thetrading.tools
CreditQ2 2026 household credit · Q2 2026 bank loans

Delinquency Tracker: Who Is Falling Behind on Their Debts

In Q2 2026, 3.31% of all US household debt was 90 or more days late, against 3.05% in 2019 and 8.71% at the Q1 2010 peak. The averages hide a split by loan type. Four of the seven loan types on this page are more than 10% above their 2019 level (credit cards, auto loans, commercial real estate and business loans), and credit cards and auto loans are within 10% of their record. Student loans, mortgages and home equity lines are at or below 2019. The stress sits with borrowers more than with banks: delinquency on all loans at US banks was 1.42% in Q2 2026.

Sources, methodology & freshnessFederal Reserve Bank of New York, Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit (New York Fed Consumer Credit Panel/Equifax); Federal Reserve Board, Charge-Off and Delinquency Rates on Loans and Leases at Commercial Banks (via FRED). · Quarterly. The New York Fed publishes about five to six weeks after each quarter, the Federal Reserve bank data about seven weeks after; the page refreshes with every daily pipeline run.Data as of 2026-04-01 · Open ↓
Source
Federal Reserve Bank of New York, Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit (New York Fed Consumer Credit Panel/Equifax); Federal Reserve Board, Charge-Off and Delinquency Rates on Loans and Leases at Commercial Banks (via FRED).
Methodology
Household series: share of each loan type's balance 90+ days late, and the annualized share newly 90+ days late. Bank series: loans 30+ days past due or on nonaccrual as a share of loans, and net charge-offs, seasonally adjusted. Each is read against its full history, its 2019 average and its record.
Updates
Quarterly. The New York Fed publishes about five to six weeks after each quarter, the Federal Reserve bank data about seven weeks after; the page refreshes with every daily pipeline run.Data as of 2026-04-01
Maintained & reviewed by Yuriy Matso — methodology shown on the page.
Loan types above 2019Q2 2026
4 of 7
2 within 10% of a record
  • Credit cards12.92%Near record
  • Auto loans5.49%Near record
  • Student loans10.60%At or below 2019
  • Mortgages0.99%At or below 2019
  • Home equity lines0.99%At or below 2019
  • Commercial real estate1.53%Above 2019
  • Business loans1.27%Above 2019

Rule: above 2019 means more than 10% over the 2019 average; near record means at least 90% of the series high. Household rows are the share of balances 90+ days late (New York Fed); CRE and business are loans 30+ days late at banks (Federal Reserve).

01

Every loan type against 2019 and its record

The latest reading of each gauge, its 2019 average, its record and its percentile in its own history. The student loan percentile leaves out the Q2 2020 to Q1 2025 reporting gap.

Loan typeMeasureLatest2019 averageRecordPercentileStatus
Credit cardsNew York Fed: 90+ days, all lenders12.92% Q2 20268.32%13.74% Q2 201093rdNear record
Auto loansNew York Fed: 90+ days, all lenders5.49% Q2 20264.75%5.60% Q1 202698thNear record
Student loansNew York Fed: 90+ days, all lenders10.60% Q2 202610.91%11.83% Q3 201357thAt or below 2019
MortgagesNew York Fed: 90+ days, all lenders0.99% Q2 20260.98%8.89% Q1 201032ndAt or below 2019
Home equity linesNew York Fed: 90+ days, all lenders0.99% Q2 20261.08%4.93% Q3 201238thAt or below 2019
Commercial real estateFed, banks: 30+ days, banks1.53% Q2 20260.68%11.99% Q1 199142ndAbove 2019
Business loansFed, banks: 30+ days, banks1.27% Q2 20261.11%6.75% Q1 198728thAbove 2019
02

Households: debt 90+ days late, by loan type

The New York Fed reads a sample of Equifax credit files, so it counts every lender: banks, credit unions, captive auto lenders and the federal student loan program. In Q2 2026, 12.92% of credit card balances were 90 or more days late, against 13.74% at the Q2 2010 record. Auto loans were at 5.49%, the 98th percentile since 2003, with the record of 5.60% set in Q1 2026. Student loans read 10.60%; their collapse after 2020 was the payment pause, when federal loans stopped being reported late, and the jump in 2025 was reporting resuming.

Share of balance 90+ days delinquent, %
Range:
0.4%7.1%13.7%20052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)650StudentReporting12.92%10.6%5.5%3.3%1.0%
Share of each loan type's outstanding balance 90 or more days delinquent, quarterly 2003–Q2 2026, New York Fed Consumer Credit Panel/Equifax. The markers bracket the student loan reporting gap. Severely derogatory balances stay in the files until they are paid, settled or age off, so this share runs higher than the banks' rates below.

The flow comes before the stock. This is the share of balances that crossed into 90 days late during the quarter, at an annual rate. Credit cards were at 6.97% and auto loans at 3.00%. Student loans peaked at 16.19% in Q4 2025, as the first borrowers who stopped paying after the pause reached 90 days, and were at 7.83% in Q2 2026.

Balances newly 90+ days delinquent, annualized %
Range:
0.3%8.2%16.2%20052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)650StudentReporting6.97%7.8%3%1.5%
Share of each loan type's balance that became 90 or more days delinquent during the quarter, annualized, 2003–Q2 2026, New York Fed. The New York Fed began reporting the student loan flow in Q1 2004.
03

Banks: loans 30+ days late, by loan type

The lender side. The Federal Reserve reports the share of loans that US commercial banks hold which are 30 or more days past due or no longer accruing interest, seasonally adjusted. These are the rates that reach bank earnings. Banks lend mostly to prime borrowers and charge off a card balance at 180 days, which is why their card rate of 2.85% in Q2 2026 sits far below the household figure above. Across all loans, the rate was 1.42%, against 7.35% at the Q1 2010 peak.

Delinquency rate on loans at US commercial banks, %
Range:
0.6%6.3%12%198519901995200020052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)6501.42%2.9%2.3%1.9%1.5%1.3%
Delinquency rates on loans and leases at all US commercial banks, seasonally adjusted, quarterly 1985–Q2 2026, Federal Reserve Board via FRED (DRALACBS, DRCCLACBS, DROCLACBS, DRSFRMACBS, DRCRELEXFACBS, DRBLACBS). Commercial real estate excludes farmland.
04

Commercial real estate: all banks and smaller banks

Commercial real estate loans 30+ days late at all US banks were 1.53% in Q2 2026, 2.3 times the 2019 average of 0.68% and far below the 11.99% of Q1 1991. Banks outside the 100 largest hold most of these loans; their rate was 1.27%. The bank average spans offices, apartments, retail and warehouses, and office loans in securitized pools run far higher; those data are licensed and not on this page.

CRE delinquency rate at US banks, %
Range:
0.5%6.2%12%1995200020052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)6501.53%1.3%
Delinquency rate on commercial real estate loans excluding farmland, booked in domestic offices, seasonally adjusted, quarterly since 1991: all commercial banks (DRCRELEXFACBS) and banks not among the 100 largest by assets (DRCRELEXFOBS). Federal Reserve Board via FRED.
05

Losses: charge-off rates

A charge-off is the point where a bank writes a loan down as a loss, so these rates trail delinquency. The annualized card charge-off rate was 3.82% in Q2 2026, commercial real estate 0.14% and all loans 0.55%.

Net charge-off rate at US commercial banks, annualized %
Range:
-0.1%5.2%10.5%198519901995200020052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)6503.82%0.6%0.1%
Net charge-offs as an annualized share of average loans, seasonally adjusted, all US commercial banks (CORCCACBS, CORALACBS, CORCREXFACBS). Federal Reserve Board via FRED.
06

Foreclosures and bankruptcies

The end of the line for a delinquent borrower. Over the four quarters to Q2 2026, 227 thousand consumers had a new foreclosure on their credit report and 526 thousand a new bankruptcy, against 278 thousand and 814 thousand in 2019.

Consumers with a new foreclosure or bankruptcy, thousands per quarter
Range:
8.1K478.4K948.6K20052010201520202025SPY (top pane, log)650137K55.2K
Number of consumers with a new foreclosure or bankruptcy notation on their credit report, thousands per quarter, New York Fed Consumer Credit Panel/Equifax.
07

What this page cannot tell you

Two sources, two definitions. Household rows are 90+ days late across every lender; bank rows are 30+ days late on loans banks still hold. Compare each series with its own history, not with the other source. Quarterly and late. The New York Fed publishes about five to six weeks after a quarter ends and the bank data about seven weeks after, so the latest reading is already one to two quarters old. Licensed data are missing. Subprime auto securitizations, CMBS delinquency (where office stress is concentrated) and corporate default rates are sold by Fitch, Trepp and Moody's. For corporate credit stress as it is priced, see Credit Spreads. No forward study. These series are quarterly and the bank record holds three recessions, too few to test what delinquency tells you about stock returns, so the page reads each gauge against its history and makes no market claim. Each quarter is dated to the period it covers; the newest release on the page came out on August 25, 2026.

How Delinquency Tracker Works

  1. 1
    Read the borrowers
    The New York Fed's Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit samples Equifax credit files, so it covers every lender: banks, credit unions, captive auto lenders and the federal student loan program. We take the share of each loan type's balance that is 90 or more days late, and the share newly falling 90 days late each quarter.
  2. 2
    Read the lenders
    The Federal Reserve publishes delinquency and charge-off rates on the loans US commercial banks hold, by loan type, seasonally adjusted, back to the late 1980s. A loan is delinquent here at 30 days past due. These are the rates that hit bank earnings.
  3. 3
    Compare each against its own history
    Every series is shown with its full record, its percentile, its pre-pandemic (2019) average and its record high, so a reading can be placed without a blended score.
  4. 4
    Count what has crossed its 2019 level
    The answer card counts how many of the headline gauges sit more than 10% above their 2019 average. The rule is printed on the page, and each gauge stays checkable on its own chart.

Who Uses Delinquency Tracker

Investors
Consumer credit stress shows up in lenders, card issuers, auto finance and regional banks before it shows up in the economy. This page shows which loan type is deteriorating, and whether the stress has reached bank balance sheets.
Macro watchers
Delinquencies are where higher rates and a softer job market meet the household. The flow into serious delinquency is the early read; the stock of late balances and the charge-offs follow.
Bank and CRE watchers
Commercial real estate delinquency is shown for all banks and for banks outside the 100 largest, which hold most of the loans, with the charge-offs that turn late payments into losses.
Journalists and researchers
Every number is sourced to the New York Fed or the Federal Reserve, dated to the quarter it covers, and computed from the published series.

Pro Tips

01
Watch the flow before the stock
The share of balances newly 90 days late moves first. The share already 90 days late is a stock that keeps rising for quarters after the flow turns, and charge-offs come last.
02
The two sources measure different things
The New York Fed's 90+ day share covers every lender and keeps severely delinquent balances on file; banks count loans 30+ days late and remove card balances at 180 days when they charge them off. The bank card rate and the credit-file card rate can both be right while one is several times the other.
03
Student loans have a reporting gap
Federal student loan delinquencies were not reported to credit bureaus from the 2020 payment pause until 2025. The series shows a collapse that never happened and a jump that is the reporting resuming. Compare today with 2019, not with 2023.
04
CRE stress is concentrated, not national
Bank CRE delinquency averages offices, apartments, retail and warehouses across thousands of banks. Office loans in securitized pools (CMBS) are far worse than the bank average; those data are licensed and not shown here.

Common Issues & Solutions

Why does the New York Fed's credit card delinquency look so much higher than the banks'?▾
Different definitions. The New York Fed reports the share of card balances 90 or more days late across all lenders, and severely derogatory balances stay in the credit file. The Fed's bank series counts balances 30 or more days late on cards banks still hold; banks charge off a card at 180 days, which removes it. The two agree on direction, not on level.
Why do the bank series end months after the quarter?▾
The Federal Reserve publishes bank delinquency and charge-off rates from the Call Reports, about seven weeks after the quarter ends, and the New York Fed report comes about five to six weeks after. The page dates each reading to the quarter it covers and shows when that quarter was published.
Is there a delinquency score?▾
No. Delinquencies are quarterly and the record holds only three recessions since the series began, which is too few to test a composite score against. The page counts gauges above their 2019 level with a fixed rule and leaves each series on its own chart.
Where are subprime auto, CMBS and corporate default rates?▾
Fitch's subprime auto ABS delinquencies, Trepp's CMBS delinquency rates and Moody's corporate default rates are licensed. The free equivalents are here: auto loans in credit files from the New York Fed, and CRE and business loans at banks from the Fed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Americans falling behind on their debts?▾
This page answers it with the latest data, by loan type: the share of credit card, auto, student loan, mortgage and home equity balances 90 or more days late from the New York Fed, and the delinquency rates on loans held by US banks from the Federal Reserve, each against its 2019 level and its record.
What is the credit card delinquency rate?▾
There are two standard measures and the page shows both: the New York Fed's share of card balances 90 or more days late across all lenders, and the Federal Reserve's rate on card loans 30 or more days late at commercial banks. The first is several times higher because it keeps severely delinquent balances that banks have already charged off.
Are auto loan delinquencies at a record?▾
The page compares the New York Fed's share of auto loan balances 90 or more days late with every quarter since 2003, including the 2009–2010 peak, and shows the flow of balances newly falling 90 days late.
What happened to student loan delinquencies?▾
Federal student loan delinquencies were not reported to credit bureaus during the payment pause that began in 2020 and through the on-ramp that ended in late 2024, so the series fell toward zero and then jumped in 2025 when reporting resumed. The page marks both dates.
Is commercial real estate delinquency rising?▾
The page shows the Federal Reserve's delinquency and charge-off rates on commercial real estate loans at all US banks and at banks outside the 100 largest, quarterly since 1991, against their pre-pandemic level and the 1991 and 2010 peaks.

Explore Other Tools